2019 Tenacity Awards

Home / / 2019 Tenacity Awards

The Carnahan Family Tenacity Awards recognize hard-working students who have overcome educational threats – academic stumbles, low attendance, poor behavior or tremendous personal challenges – which could have derailed their grade completion or graduation. With support from CIS of Chicago’s intensive program, these students persevered to work through challenges and improve their school performance. Since 2014, CIS of Chicago has presented 53 students with a Tenacity Award, which includes cash awards compiled from donations by current and former staff members.

The 2019 Tenacity Awards were presented to 20 students:

Braulio, Cárdenas Elementary School

De’Avian, Michele Clark Academic Preparatory Magnet High School

Alexis, Clay Elementary School

Salvador, Cesar E. Chávez Multicultural Academic Center

Edward, James R Doolittle Jr Elementary School

Mercedes, Foreman College and Career Academy

Nayla, George Washington High School

Uriel, Hayt Elementary School

Valeria, Marsh Elementary School

Liberty, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Academy of Social Justice

Israa, Stephen Tyng Mather High School

Ranesha, Mireles Elementary Academy

Gilberto, Phoenix Military Career Academy

Fabiola, Rowe Elementary School

Angelina, Pilsen Community Academy

Jaden, Randolph Magnet School

Roselyn, Saucedo Scholastic Elementary Academy

Esequiel, Vaughn Occupational High School

Macail, Webster Elementary School

Montrell, Westcott Elementary School

READ AND LISTEN: Sarah Karp of WBEZ, Chicago Public Radio reports on the Tenacity Awards and the story of Roselyn, our recipient at Saucedo Elementary.